seven

Lunch break and a stream of conciousness post:

IMG_1525

Today was exceptionally perfect. 

Five minutes from my office is one of the largest parks in Johnson County and I try to go there for lunch every day.  It needs to be storming or 30 below before I will not go to the park.  I eat my lunch.  Often I will write.  Some days I just sit there with my chin in my hand and enjoy the feel of the sun on my neck.

I never want to go back to the office at the end of my hour in the park.  One of my minor grumbles about my work is that I absolutely despise putting on a suit, wearing high heels, and sitting all day in an office with windows that don’t open, flourescent lighting, and central air.  It makes me itchy and uncomfortable in my own skin.  It’s also, unfortunately, a job requirement.  I’ve found my time in the park is essential to keeping me sane.

You know, I’ve spent a lot of time over the past year or so thinking about what makes me happy with work and what doesn’t.  It wasn’t until I was writing this post that it occurred to me that this job is the first one I’ve ever had in which being outside is not a job requirement.  I don’t know how much it matters.  Maybe not at all.  But I’ve never considered it even once.

That’s one thing I love about writing in general, journaling in particular: the unexpected thought or turn of events.  Sometimes the truest voice is the quietest voice.  I can’t hear it because of all the other stuff buzzing around my head.  It’s not until I start to write that I can begin to make sense of things, impose some sense of priority and perspective on the whole mess.  Only then can I turn down the buzzing and finally hear that voice.

About Shannon K.

My name is Shannon. I make stuff up.
This entry was posted in inspiration, procrastination, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to seven

  1. dad says:

    I know what you mean. Sailing used to do that for me. When it quit working I quit sailing. Now days I just put up with the “buzzing”

    • shannonmakesstuffup says:

      Interesting. That’s the first explanation I’ve heard about why you quit sailing that has made any sense to me.

  2. Judy Hilton says:

    Being able to be outside was one main reason why I liked being an itinerant SLP…I liked that quiet drive to Solomon, Chapman, or some rural area school district. I loved seeing the changing seasons.

  3. rob says:

    My quiet time is in the morning, before Stephanie gets up… I like to have an hour or so to myself with a cup of coffee, the paper, and Gertie curled up at my feet, before the day gets progressively noisier.

  4. Pingback: fifteen « i make stuff up

  5. Nana Stephanie says:

    I journal. I know exactly what you mean about that still, small voice.

Leave a Reply

