thirteen

Life has been more than a little crazy lately. D and I took a vacation last weekend to Florida (and I needed that vacation. Oh let me tell you how much I needed that vacation). But, now that I’m a grown up and all professional ‘n’ stuff, I also realize that vacations don’t actually mean time off work; they mean less time to do the same amount of work.

I’ve also been participating in National Novel Writing Month, or NaNoWriMo (www.nanowrimo.org), the idea being you write a 50,000 word novel in a month. This is probably a dumb idea for several reasons:

1. It’s November, and two of my weekends in November are already tied up with other inescapable commitments; a trip for work and the Thanksgiving holiday.
2. I’m already feeling obscenely overworked and short on time as it is; I’m not sure where I’m going to find the time to take on this adventure.
3. It’s sort of a crazy thing to do, right? I told my mother I was doing this and, even though she didn’t say a single word, or maybe because she didn’t say a single word, I could tell she thought I was insane.

Despite the inherent problems, one week and about seven thousand words in (yes, I’m already behind, stop doing the math), I’m already seeing some surprising benefits to the whole crazy endeavor. Before, if I would hit a snag in my story, my characters encountered a problem they weren’t quite sure how to solve, it could hold me up for days. My inner editor has been more than a little over-active the last few years (see post Two); NaNoWriMo has forced her to shut the hell up.  There’s just no time for that sort of anxiety.  I’ve learned something simply from the fact that what I am producing here is not any worse than any of my other first drafts.  In fact, some of the stuff I have churned out this past week is pretty good, if I do say so myself. Okay, okay, there’s a lot of crap in there, too. But some of it, enough to keep me going, is pretty good.

About Shannon K.

My name is Shannon. I make stuff up.
This entry was posted in writing. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to thirteen

  1. ames says:

    I keep thinking of you and this project. I almost made you a Happy NaNoWriMo card, but unlike you, I have no motivation to do even the simplest things, let alone the big scary commitments. Go you!

  2. Judy Hilton says:

    I didn’t say a word? Oops! I’m quite impressed that you can do this!

  3. Aunt Lisa says:

    VERY COOL! Thank you for writing about Granny K.

  4. Judy Hilton says:

    I shared your writing with Jan, Kristin, and Lisa. Thought they would enjoy it.

  5. rob says:

    I think it’s an awesome idea. Keep going!

Leave a Reply

