Peanut Update: 25 Weeks

The Peanut is approximately 9 inches “tall” and weighs around a pound and a half.  The development of her senses has been the focus of the last few weeks.  She can now see, hear, taste and feel.  Or so they tell us.  This week her vocal chords are developing along with the air sacs in her lungs so she can one day breathe on her own.  Maybe she can use those new vocal chords to tell us what her name should be, because we still don’t have one. 

I guess I’ve grown a little bit since my last “belly shot.”  Last week, as I approached an acquaintance, she placed her hands on her belly, puffed out her cheeks, and started to waddle.  Nice.  Man, was I excited to learn that, along with “I’m choking,” and “That guy is crazy,” there is an international sign for “You are becoming a fat ass.”   Coincidentally, this is the same acquaintance who likes to say things to me like “When are you due? August? That’s so far away,” and “Can you imagine being nine months pregnant in August? What were you thinking?  It is going to be so hot.  You are going to be so miserable!”  Thank you, thank you.  Your comments aside, I’m feeling great.

Actually, August doesn’t feel that far away.  It was a little shocking the other day, as I was scheduling a court date, to flip my calendar just a few pages and see the entry I added so many weeks ago: “Start of 3rd Trimester.”  It is going by quickly and we still have so much to do before she gets here.   Her nursery, her name, her pediatrician. The list of projects that need to be completed, the decisions that need to be made, can be overwhelming.   Hopefully my next peanut update will let you know there has been some sort of progress on checking some things off our ‘to-do’ list.

About Shannon K.

My name is Shannon. I make stuff up.
This entry was posted in family. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Peanut Update: 25 Weeks

  1. ames says:

    Okay, you are definitely not a fat ass, and it’s pretty telling that said acquaintance is being called acquaintance and not friend. Mmhmm.

    As for a name, have you tried Nymbler, by chance? It might inspire you guys a bit. Or maybe not. But I thought I’d throw it out there in case you didn’t know about it.

  2. shannonmakesstuffup says:

    Okay, Amy, I’ll bite. Where does Nymbler come from? Finnish? Elvish? the Planet Cerembler?

  3. ames says:

    Hahaha. Errr, try nymbler.com. 🙂

  4. shannonmakesstuffup says:

    Ooooohhhhh……

Leave a Reply

