Oh the memories

Gah. This video reminds me of my own intensely horrible middle school hurdles experience. I can’t stop laughing about it:

I actually got a concussion running hurdles in eighth grade.  This was before the cushy rubberized tracks they have today. It was the first track meet of the season and I was warming up (notice, I didn’t even make it to the actual race). The track had the lovely design feature of lanes which were narrower than the hurdles, so each lane’s hurdles were linked together with the next lane (is this making any sense). Depending on which lane you were in, if you hit the hurdle you had to knock over the hurdle in several adjoining lanes to keep going.  I, in all my middle school glory, did not knock over any lanes’ hurdles, and instead flipped over and cracked open my head on the track. For several weeks afterwards I couldn’t run without feeling so dizzy I thought I would black out. It was the end of my (very short) illustrious track and field career.

You know, even now, I find the idea of running for fitness to be so abhorrent I want to vomit. (Not because I get dizzy, but because I find it so unappealing). Maybe its left over from my track and field glory days? On the other hand, the boy who later became my boyfriend throughout most of high school once told me that he didn’t even know who I was until my (spectacular!) accident. There were just over 100 people in my class. I’m not sure how it was even possible to not at least know of my existence. But assuming he was telling the truth, that sort of worked out okay for me. So maybe that accident should really be considered one of the highlights of my teenage years.

About Shannon K.

My name is Shannon. I make stuff up.
This entry was posted in Randomness. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Oh the memories

  1. Judy Hilton says:

    Yes, the hurdle accident definitely increased your ‘popularity’….or at least your name recognition. It was reported that throughout the stands you could hear your head crack/whack on the track.

  2. Kristin Benjamin says:

    I suddenly stopped myself from laughing and cackling so loudly–I felt bad a bit. But holy cow, that video is not a good advocacy for title 9!!!!!!!
    Except for running from bears and running to chocolate, running is over-rated. Poor high schooler Shannon though!

  3. Nana Stephanie says:

    Oh my god, that video was hilarious. But I felt so sorry for the girls. And, my god! Poor Shannon, what a way to become known.

    You seem ok to me, but then, hmmm….it is me.
    love,
    Stephanie

Leave a Reply

