Holidays 2010 Summary

Dear Lord. It’s been over a month since I posted anything.  That may be a record, even for me given how infrequently I post. In some ways, December just screamed past me. In others, its been one of the more relaxing Christmases I’ve had in a long time.

Earlier in the Month, the Peanut had her first snow.

D made us slow down and take this picture. I think Ms. B and I were pretty grumbly; the day was bitter bitter cold and I was probably annoyed that I had to get out of my pyjamas.  Now I’m glad he did.  I’m really not good about taking pictures. For instance, as I sit here I’m remembering that Ms. B had both a Girl Scout Talent Show, a violin concert, and was in the school production of “A Christmas Carol” this month. I can’t find pictures or video of any of them.  I sense a New Year’s Resolution coming on….

We put up the Christmas Tree. Ms. B. graciously allowed the Peanut to put the star on the top, seeing as how it was her first Christmas and all.

That tree was leaning all month and it drove me crazy. But never enough to do anything serious about it. I thought a lot about how different next Christmas will be for the Peanut; I wondered if she would be like her big sister at that age and pull all the ornaments off the tree.

Ms. B. and Grammy made their annual gingerbread house. They decided this year to make it out of graham crackers. It’s just so much easier and they decided they would it do it that way in the future. But I’m going to miss eating the gingerbread that Grammy makes.

I made these wreaths for our french doors from this tutorial from the Shabby Nest:

I used the copy of “Alice in Wonderland” given to me by brother for my 8th birthday.  I never would have cut into it willingly, but a certain dog in a certain moment of separation anxiety decided that it looked tasty and had chewed the cover and bottom edge of the book so that it wasn’t really readable any more. (Oh Marvin. When you’re good you are very good. But when you are bad you are oh so very very bad.  He felt really awful about chewing my book if it’s any consolation.)

About a week before Christmas the Peanut discovered her tongue. It was the most amazing thing: it can go in and out, slide from side to side, it feels wet when you touch it with your fingers, it feels funny when you try to talk while it’s sticking out. At an early Christmas dinner at D’s mom’s house, she just sat with it hanging out the entire afternoon. It was inevitable that by Christmas she would have perfected this trick:

Wearing a bib at all times is now a necessity. By Christmas Eve she was making this noise pretty much constantly. The novelty seems to be wearing off: she discovered that if she makes that noise while she’s crying we don’t take her quite so seriously.

Just before Christmas I received a package from my Aunt Kristin. It was a sweater made by my mom when she was in high school and subsequently borrowed (“borrowed”?) by her sister, my aunt.  She had kept it all this time and wanted to return it to its rightful owner. The original plan was to have Ms. B wear the sweater on Christmas Eve and see if my mom recognized it.  Well, it turns out that getting a tween who is too cool for you and certainly too cool for her Grammy’s sweater to even touch it is just pushing things a bit too far. (My mom reminded me of a similar incident when I was Ms. B’s age and she and her sisters tried to get me to try on one of the bridesmaids dresses from her 1963 wedding. I think they eventually ended up just holding me down and jamming it over my head.)  Ms. B. did think the sweater was funny and in the holiday spirit did agree to have one (JUST ONE, MOM) picture taken of her wearing the sweater.  This one’s for you Aunt Kristin:

D and I made a conscious effort to keep our gifts small for both the girls and ourselves this year and, as cliché as it sounds, it really was the best thing about the season. Our month became more about decorating the tree, seeing the Plaza Lights, cutting paper snowflakes, making cookies, and eating good food and less about shopping and wrapping. D got me a new brownie pan because I had literally worked my old one to death (don’t judge me) and a new cookbook: Nigella Lawson’s How to be a Domestic Goddess.  I let him know that I was already a Domestic Goddes, thankyouverymuch, but that I thought I could put the cookbook to good use.  First up were some white chocolate and macadamia nut brownies. Speaking of which, I think I need to go have another. . .

About Shannon K.

My name is Shannon. I make stuff up.
This entry was posted in family. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Holidays 2010 Summary

  1. Judy Hilton says:

    Love Ms B in the 50-year-old sweater. Just one historic correction note: Dad and I were married in 1964.

    • Shannon says:

      Ah. Duly corrected. I kept going back and forth on 1963 vs 1964 and couldn’t decide. I just went with 1963 and figured that whichever one I chose would be wrong…

  2. Judy Hilton says:

    Peanut is just tooooo sweet! Love the “raspberries” and tongue discovery. Picture of putting the star on the Christmas tree is a treasure.

Leave a Reply

