Vignettes

Peanut has started potty training, which lead to this conversation between me and Ms. B:

Me: Guess who used the potty today?!

Ms. B: Please tell me it was you.

D’s mom teaches Middle School and she keeps telling us that you can’t use sarcasm on Middle School girls.  Ms. B., however, seems to have a firm grasp on the concept.

The Peanut recently started saying “Come on” with a little hand gesture to beckon us on.  I can’t help but follow.  She also has been assigned her first ‘job,’ – giving Marvin his dog food.  We scoop it and give her the bowl and then just pray she doesn’t drop it as she carefully walks over to Marvin to deliver it.

Ms. B.’s laptop recently had to be sent back to the manufacturer for warranty service.  When she asked where it was, D said the gypsies stole it.  Her response: “Why always the gypsies? Why not the Canadians?”

Things have been a little insane around our house lately.  D and I took a much-needed trip to Northern California (sans children) where D said all sorts of nice romantic heart-melting things like, “I love you more today than I did five years ago.”  And then we came back and he had to say all sorts of practical things like, “Do I need to move the hamper over to here? Because it seems to be where all of your dirty clothes end up.” Ah. Love.  We got back only two and half weeks ago, but the press of the ‘real world’ has already made that vacation feel a little distant and surreal.  My eye is on the calendar to that date just under two weeks from now when school is out for summer.

About Shannon K.

My name is Shannon. I make stuff up.
This entry was posted in family. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Vignettes

  1. Kelly says:

    Ummm. Why must you put the words “A” and “Middle School” together??? HOW is that possible??

    And love the little picture your painted about your hamper and clothes pile… This is us at our home too 😉

  2. Kelly says:

    Err, I meant Ms B… but you know what I meant 😉

  3. Judy Hilton says:

    Thank you for the many chuckles! I’ll be smiling all day on these vignettes.

  4. David Kelman says:

    Consider this proof of my readership. And let me know about the hamper… 😉

  5. Kristin Benjamin says:

    So LOL! and that Ms. B is such a wit. You must be on your toes for both girls! I’m reminded of our own potty etiquette challenges when JK and Graham were little: I posted a sign over their toilet stating “peeing while blindfolded strictly prohibited.” It worked.

Leave a Reply

