Vignettes

Ms. B., while the Peanut was having a meltdown:  “I think she might be having a mid-life crisis.”

At dinner one night Ms. B. asked, “What are pork chops made of?”  D. and I just stared at her and said, “…uh… Pork?”  Ms. B. started laughing and just said, “Whoops!” She keeps laughing about it over a week later.  Summer brain is setting in.

This conversation with the Peanut:

The Peanut: “Sick (6), seben (7), ayegh (8)…   …   …

Me: “… Nine, Ten …”

The Peanut: “Welcome.”

Actually, the Peanut has had all sorts of things to say lately, and it’s been fun to try and decipher her sentences:

  1. “Sissy do water.” (She wanted to go swimming with Ms. B.)
  2.  “Mommy move shoes.” (This one took me awhile to figure out and the Peanut got increasingly frustrated until she finally pulled on my leg and sputtered out “Mommy!Walk!”  Apparently I was taking too long talking to her teacher at the end of the day).
  3. “More shoes please.” (She was already wearing one pair of shoes and holding another in her hands. This seems pretty self-explanatory if you ask me.)

Peanut has been talking us into a lot of bike rides lately. D is usually in the lead with the Peanut in the carrier behind him while Ms. B. and I trade spots for second and third place. I love watching the Peanut mimic D’s turn signals with her arms.  I love hearing her squeals of excitement floating back to me.  When we pull into the driveway at the end of the ride she says, “All done, bye-bye bike.”

Life has been out of balance for me lately. Too much time at the office and not enough of anything else.  I’m struggling to find my center again.

About Shannon K.

My name is Shannon. I make stuff up.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Vignettes

  1. Judy Hilton says:

    Sweet memories of today.

Leave a Reply

