Vignettes

‘Cause I know the three of you don’t read this blog so that you can be updated on my caffeine consumption…

The Peanut had her second birthday at the end of July and received a play kitchen. We put it in our kitchen so that she can ‘cook’ while I ‘cook.’

Me: “I’m cooking for you, are you cooking for me?”
Peanut: “Yeah…”
Me: “What are you making for me?”
Peanut: “Water.”

And tasty water it was, too.  I was required to ‘drink’ it all under the Peanut’s careful supervision before she snatched the glass away again.

On the other end of the parenting spectrum, Ms. B. and I have been spending a lot of time together getting her ready to start middle school next week.  Part of that has meant clothes shopping (gotta look good for middle school – she seems to care a whole lot more than she has any other year…), getting booster shots and photos for her student ID.  And it’s also meant conversations like this:

Me: “Aaaaand, THAT just earned you an awkward conversation with me about sex, drugs and alcohol…”

Ms. B: (dejected) “Gross…”

I’ll spare you the gory details. I ended with, “And, I assure you, that was just as horrible for me as it was for you…”  But, actually, it’s been good. It started a whole conversation that’s been going on for the last three days about choices, responsibility and how some of her friendships from elementary school are going to change when she starts middle school.

Getting ready for middle school has also meant starting her up with her orthodontist so she can get braces. I had meant to start these back in June so that she could have the whole summer to get used to her braces before starting school again, but it just didn’t happen.  Yesterday we learned the ‘bad news;’ that she’ll have them for two years and that it may even include wearing, dear God, headgear at night.  I can only hope that torture device has made improvements since I had to wear one twenty-three years ago… Dear Children: This overbite is my gift to you. You’re welcome.  Ms. B., to say the least, was less than thrilled by this news.   We’ve been subjected to a lot of dramatic groaning about the braces over the last 24 hours with me periodically saying, “Enough! We get it.  It’s not fun, but it’s something we have to do.  I thought you WANTED to have your teeth straightened…”

Ms. B: “All I’m saying is that, strictly speaking, getting braces my first week of middle school is not exactly the highlight of my life.”

Touche

Peanut and Ms. B. have also had a series of hysterical ‘conversations,’ including this one, which went down during a “Facetime” conversation with Grammy and Granddad:

Peanut: “My phone.”

Ms. B.: “No, that’s MY phone.”

Peanut: “MY phone.”

Ms. B.: (exasperated) “No, MY phone.”

Peanut: “OUR phone.”

And this gem while we were driving home last night:

Peanut: “This Daddy car?”

Me: “No, it’s not Daddy’s car.”

Peanut: “This Mommy car?”

Me: “Yep. This is Mommy’s car.”

Peanut: “Where Sissy car?”

Ms. B.: “I don’t have a car, Peanut.”

Peanut: (starts laughing hysterically, then chanting) “Sissy No Car! Sissy No Car! Sissy No Car!”

Ms. B.: “Niiice.”

How do they know what buttons to push for each other already?

About Shannon K.

My name is Shannon. I make stuff up.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Vignettes

  1. Judy Hilton says:

    Really-really LOL!! Your #1 fan.

Leave a Reply

