The one in which Mommy hurts the car.

I don’t want to cast blame or name names, but someone in my back seat on the drive in to work today was having a spectacular melt down over something having to do with her juice.

Her name is Peanut.

We were the third car in line stopped at a stop light.  I saw the light turn green and the car in front of me started to roll, so I started to roll as well.  I glanced over my shoulder to my backseat to make sure a demon hadn’t taken over the body of my two-year old and missed that the car in front of me had stopped again.   I rear-ended that car. I did.

The other driver and I got out to assess the damage.  A small scuff was on the other driver’s bumper that he rubbed out with his thumb, but otherwise there didn’t seem to be any damage.  Just to be sure, I gave the other driver my insurance information and one of my business cards.

When I got back in my car, the Peanut had sobered up considerably, her juice long forgotten.

Peanut: Mommy hurt ‘dat car.

Me: I did. Mommy had an accident.

Peanut: Mommy hit it.

Me: I did, and I’m very very sorry.

Peanut: Mommy HIT ‘dat car.

Me: Yep, got it.

Peanut: You HURT it!

Me: Look, it wasn’t THAT bad. It was a very minor accident.

Peanut: Car has a booboo.

Me: Really, there wasn’t any damage. Everything’s fine.

Peanut: Car is ouchie.

Me: Honestly, it was kinda sorta your fault.

Peanut: Mommy HURT ‘dat car.

Me: How’s that juice now?

Peanut: Mommy HIT ‘dat car.

Me: Can’t wait for you to repeat THIS one to Daddy…

About Shannon K.

My name is Shannon. I make stuff up.
This entry was posted in Conversations. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The one in which Mommy hurts the car.

  1. Judy Hilton says:

    Oh, ouch!! Been there for sure.

  2. D says:

    Don’t you love that she chose to inform me of her accident by forwarding me this post?

  3. ames says:

    Totally Peanut’s fault. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Peanut-isms | i make stuff up

  5. Pingback: Vignettes – Peanut Edition | i make stuff up

Leave a Reply

